Funding for this program is provided by the National Science Foundation:


This alliance was created in response to the NSF’s Alliances for Graduate Education and the Professoriate (AGEP) program solicitation (NSF 16-552). The AGEP program seeks to advance knowledge about models to improve pathways to the professoriate and success of URM graduate students, postdoctoral fellows and faculty in specific STEM disciplines and/or STEM education research fields. AGEP Transformation Alliances develop, replicate or reproduce; implement and study, via integrated educational and social science research, models to transform the dissertator phase of doctoral education, postdoctoral training and/or faculty advancement, and the transitions within and across the pathway levels, of URMs in STEM and/or STEM education research careers.


While this Alliance is primarily funded by the AGEP program, additional support has been provided by the NSF INCLUDES program, which focuses on catalyzing the STEM enterprise to collaboratively work for inclusive change. The ADVANCE program also provided support for this AGEP Alliance model work, and the ADVANCE program embraces three goals that are relevant to this Alliance model’s development, implementation and testing:

  1. To develop systemic approaches to increase the participation and advancement of women in academic STEM careers;
  2. To develop innovative and sustainable ways to promote gender equity that involve both men and women in the STEM academic workforce
  3. To contribute to the research knowledge base on gender equity and the intersection of gender and other social identities in STEM academic careers.


Official NSF Abstract for UMBC, via
Award Number: 1820984; Principal Investigator: Philip Rous; Co-Principal Investigator: Renetta Tull, Janet Rutledge, Patrice McDermott, William LaCourse;
Organization: University of Maryland Baltimore County;
NSF Organization: HRD Start Date:10/01/2018

Official NSF Abstract for Towson, via
Award Number: 1820974; Principal Investigator: David Vanko; Co-Principal Investigator: Cynthia Ghent, David Vanko;
Organization: Towson University;
NSF Organization: HRD Start Date:10/01/2018

Official NSF Abstract for Salisbury, via
Award Number: 1820971; Principal Investigator: Karen Olmstead; Co-Principal Investigator: Michael Scott, Chrys Egan, Jessica Clark, Clifton Griffin;
Organization: Salisbury University;
NSF Organization: HRD Start Date:10/01/2018

Official Abstract for UMB, via
Award Number: 1820983; Principal Investigator: Bruce Jarrell; Co-Principal Investigator: Roger Ward, Erin Golembewski, James Kaper, Natalie Eddington;
Organization: University of Maryland at Baltimore;
NSF Organization: HRD Start Date:10/01/2018

Official Abstract for UM College Park, via
Award Number: 1820975; Principal Investigator: Mary Ann Rankin; Co-Principal Investigator: Gregory Ball, John Bertot, Elisabeth Smela, Gerald Wilkinson;
Organization: University of Maryland College Park;
NSF Organization: HRD Start Date:10/01/2018
%d bloggers like this: